Before the Ohio company made their historic trek, the newly formed US government established a fortification here for the purpose of discouraging squatters. As it turned out, Fort Harmar only served to embolden illegal settlers who mistakenly believed the military presence would prevent attacks from Native Americans. Today the site of the fort has been overtaken by the river, yet the district is still called by its name.
Harmar was settled as part of Marietta in 1788, but seceded for a time in the 1900s. The Lewis and Clark Expedition landed here in 1803. During the Civil War, the village was home to abolitionists active in harboring slaves through the Underground Railroad.
More than 200 Harmar buildings are on the National Register of Historic Places. The Children's Toy and Doll Museum and the Henry Fearing House Museum invite visitors to explore the past. The Anchorage crowns Putnam Avenue as one of the area's most significant architectural achievements.
Harmar Village is connected to downtown Marietta via the Harmar Railroad Bridge. Originally a covered bridge, it was built on the existing piers in 1856 with a span that turns by hand to allow for the passage of large riverboats. After it was retired from railroad use, the bridge was transformed into a scenic walkway linking the east and west sides of Marietta.
|The Historic Harmar Train Bridge connects Marietta and Harmar Village|